Thursday 18 October 2012

Nobel Prize Collection

As postscript to the award of the Nobel Prize to the EU, it's been decided that the presidents of the 3 EU institutions - Commission, European Council and Parliament - will go to collect the award in Oslo. It's not been decided who will give an acceptance speech.

I'll not spill any more digital ink over this, but clearly there needs to be a ceremonial "head of the EU" status given to one of these posts since for such situations because the current arrangements aren't working (the Lisbon Treaty hasn't proven a solution to the representation problem here). It would make sense to give it to the Commission President, I think, with a protocol for when it is the whole EU that needs to be represented, and not just the European Council.

No comments:

Post a Comment